August 28-30

UW successfully hosted a NEUP IRP workshop on Preliminary Fluoride Salt-Cooled High Temperature Reactor (FHR) Materials and Components on August 28 to 30 2012. Todd Allen, Mark Anderson, Kumar Sridharan, Guoping Cao Mike Figueroa, Tyler Gerczak, Guiqiu Zheng, Brian Kelleher from UW attended the workshop. About forty external invited experts from INL, ORNL, UC-Berkeley, MIT, etc. and international institutions in Russia,Czech Republic, and China attended the workshop. 

July 13, 2012

Todd Allen, who is described as a "man of many hats," answers questions about his career, motivation, the ATR, and hobbies.


July 3, 2012

Leland Barnard and Amanda lang received awards for the 2012 Innovations in Fuel Cycle Research Program. Read the press release here.

June 30, 2012

What an exciting week! Wisconsin-Madison sported 26 students, with many presenting posters or giving presentations for the Nuclear Fuels and Structural Materials embedded topical, as well as ICAPP. Here's a brief list of some of the posters/presentations and awards received:

Guiqiu Zheng presented a poster titled, "Corrosion Behavior of Structural Alloys in Molten Fluoride Salts for Next Generation Nuclear Reactors."

Robert Sellers presented at ICAPP 2012 at the conference. He presented the experimental results of his paper titled, "Materials Corrosion in Molten LiF-NaF-KF Eutectic Salt Under Different Reduction-Oxidation Conditions"

William Nollet presented an update on oxygen detection research for liquid sodium-cooled fast reactors at UW-Madison. He presented the design and construction of a plugging meter, as well as his own methodology for operating the instrument. In addition, he presented a status update on Wisconsin's prototype electrochemical cell designs, which are being tested now.

Jamieson Brechtl won best poster award for the NFSM session, with a prize of a $500 honorarium and a trip to Oak Ridge Nation Lab.

Mahima Gupta participated in the poster session at the NFSM and the ATR user information session. Her poster was titled "Experiment Design of UO2 Irradiation in the ATR" with Justin Sattler, Clarissa Yablinsky, and Todd Allen as co-authors.

Sarah Khalil presented a poster with the title "Clustering of Point Defects in UO2" 

Kevin Field presented his research entitled, "Relationship Between Grain Boundary Structure and Radiation Induced Segregation in Ferritic/Martensitic Steels."

Sean Martin presented a poster at on his pyroprocessing research titled, "Physical and Electrochemical Properties of Molten LiCl-KCl Salt for Nuclear Waste Separation."

Brian Kelleher presented on chemical control of fluoride salts for applications related to the fluoride salt cooled high temperature reactor.

Amanda Lang was the recipient of an Innovations in Fuel Research Award in the undergraduate category for her paper on the use of freeze-casting in fuel design.

Alex Mairov's poster was titled "Stability of a Titanium Fe-12%Cr Interface Under Heavy Ion Irradiation."

June 11-22, 2012

Jianchao He has participated Modeling Experimentation and Validation (MeV) school / Advanced Test Reactor National scientific User Facility Users Week 2012 From June 11-22 offered by ORNL and INL.