March 11-15 2012

Alicia Certain, Laura Jamison, Tyler Gerczak, Vahid Firouzdor, Lingfeng He, and Clarissa Yablinsky presented their work at the The Minerals, Metals, and Material Society annual meeting from March 11-15 in Orlando, FL.

Tyler presented a talk entitled, "Role of Microstructure on Ag and Cs Diffusion in SiC."

Clarissa presented two talks, "Analysis and Modeling of Swift Heavy Ion Irradiation Defects in CeO2" and "Characterization of Freeze-cast Scaffolds as a Novel Fuel Form."

Laura presented, "Grain Size Dependence of the Radiation Response in Silicon Carbide."

Vahid presented, "Development of Diffusion Barrier coatings for mitigation of fuel-cladding chemical interaction."

March 6, 2012

Laura Jamison will be participating in the 62nd Lindau Nobel Laureate Meeting, to be held from July 1 to July 6, 2012, in Lindau (Germany).

February 18, 2012

The Allen Group participated in the Toss Your Boss portion of the Madison Polar Plunge, raising over $1000 for the Special Olympics. (L-R) Todd Allen, Mahima Gupta, Michael Figueroa, and Brian MacKie-Mason were the brave few who actually jumped into Lake Monona.



December 19, 2011

Clarissa Yablinsky received the TMS Structural Materials Division Young Leader Professional Development Award. The award is a one year appointment in which Clarissa will participate in TMS activities and committees, make important contact with TMS leaders, and network with prominent Society members.

October 16-22, 2011

Yina Huang has attended ICFRM15 from Oct 16-22 2011, presented one poster and submitted one paper "Microstructural evolution in proton irradiated NF616 at 500¡ãC to 3 dpa" to Journal of Nuclear Materials during the conference.